School Committee


Jeff Segarra, Cindy Sullivan, Vice Chair, Susan Dietrich, Chair, Lauren Nassiff, Tim Fagerson

FY21 Budget Development Process

The annual process to develop the budget is complex and time consuming.  Each year, as budget development begins, we take an opportunity to assess the effectiveness of our programs and work to collaboratively identify areas of need with our faculty and staff, administrative team, and the greater community.  Over the last few months, we have been working to identify the priorities necessary to ensure the continuation of the high quality educational experience that our students deserve. It is important that members of our community have the opportunity to participate in this process.  

Community engagement and understanding of the budget process are incredibly important.  Below, please find a complete timeline and description of the upcoming FY21 budget events.

March 5, 2020:  FY21 Budget Forum and Student Opportunity Act  3 Year Plan Conversation

The Medway School Committee and Superintendent Pires invite interested community members to attend a public forum to discuss the budget priorities for the 2020-2021 school year.  

In addition, the forum will provide us with an opportunity to seek input on the development of a 3 year improvement plan required through The Student Opportunity Act.  The Student Opportunity Act, which was signed into law in late November, aims to address persistent achievement gaps throughout the Commonwealth.   Medway’s plan will be well aligned with the spirit and focus of the 2019-2024 Medway Public Schools Excellence for All:  A Medway Mindset Strategic Plan.  We look forward to highlighting the key priorities for this plan and hearing community input.  

The forum will take place on Thursday, March 5, 2020 from 6:00-7:00 p.m. in the Presentation Room at Medway Middle School.  

Attendees can attend in person, or virtually.  To participate virtually, please use these credentials:

Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or Android device:

    Please click this URL to join.

    Description: Budget Forum

Or join by phone:

    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location): 

        US: +1 929 205 6099 or +1 669 900 6833 

    Webinar ID: 774 803 881

    International numbers available:

March 19, 2020:  FY21 Budget Hearing

On March 19, 2020, at 6:30 p.m., community members are invited to share thoughts regarding the proposed FY21 budget with the School Committee.  This is the final opportunity for community feedback prior to the school committee vote on the FY21 budget planned as part of the regular school committee meeting agenda later this evening.  Feedback shared at the hearing will be acknowledged and noted and there will not be a dialogue during the Budget Hearing.

March 19, 2020:  FY21 Budget Vote

On March 19, 2020, at 7:00 p.m., the school committee will vote to forward the proposed FY21 budget to the town as part of the FY21 Town of Medway budget.  

May 11, 2020:  Town Meeting

Community members are encouraged to attend Medway’s Town Meeting on Monday, May, 11, 2020, when residents will be asked to vote on the Town’s FY21 budget which will be inclusive of the FY21 Medway Public School’s budget.

The Medway School Committee consists of five members who are elected to staggered three-year terms in the May Town Election.  In the context of Chapter 71, Section 37 of Massachusetts General Laws, our primary responsibilities are:

  • review, approve and oversee the annual school budget
  • hire and evaluate the performance of the superintendent
  • establish policy and goals for the school district
  • advocate for the students in the school district

The committee generally meets the first and third Thursday of each month during the school calendar year in the Presentation Room at Medway Middle School.  Meetings are public and are conducted under the rules of Massachusetts Open Meeting Law.

Susan Dietrich, Chair       

Cindy Sullivan, Vice Chair

Jeff Segarra, Member      

Lauren Nassiff, Member  

Tim Fagerson, Member   

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.